The National Academy of Medicine honors Stuart Schreiber

October 16, 2018
Professor Stuart Schreiber

One of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine


On October 15, 2018, The National Academy of Medicine (NAM) announced the election of 75 regular members and 10 international members during its annual meeting. Stuart Schreiber, Morris Loeb Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Biology, was one of the 75. 

Election to the Academy is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service. 

"This distinguished and diverse class of new members is a truly remarkable set of scholars and leaders whose impressive work has advanced science, improved health, and made the world a better place for everyone," said National Academy of Medicine President Victor J. Dzau. "Their expertise in science, medicine, health, and policy in the U.S. and around the globe will help our organization address today's most pressing health challenges and inform the future of health and health care. It is my privilege to welcome these esteemed individuals to the National Academy of Medicine."

The Academy recognized Schreiber "For advancing chemical biology and medicine through the discovery of small-molecule probes for signal transduction and gene regulation pathways." He and his lab members innovate foundational capabilities that enable discovery of small-molecule probes and therapeutics, and apply these capabilities to understand and treat infectious disease, neurodegenerative disease and cancer. You can learn more about his research here.