The Department of Chemistry & Chemical Biology (CCB) is led by a chair, who consults closely with the CCB faculty to set priorities and strategize innovations in our research and education programs. They are supported in their leadership roles by the Dean of Science and the Administrative Dean of Science. Our executive director works with the chair to ensure the department runs with efficiency and ease.


Department Chair

The Chair of CCB is Theodore Betley, Erving Professor of Chemistry and Director of Graduate Studies, who took on this strategic leadership role in July 2020 after stepping in as interim co-chair (alongside Daniel Kahne) since February 2020.

Betley, who has taught at Harvard since 2007, leads his own research group, which focuses on synthetic inorganic chemistry. Betley was named a top innovator under 35 by the MIT Technology Review in 2008 and received the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers in 2013.

"While members often work on individual projects," Betley writes on his lab website, "collaboration and discussion amongst lab members is essential to foster new ideas and share previous experiences. We firmly believe that science is not best done in isolation."


Executive Director

CCB administration and communications teams are led by Deana Reardon, Executive Director. She has oversight of all aspects of operations, including research compliance, grants, finance, facilities, education, and communications.

Learn more about Deana in our recent Q&A.