Prizes & Awards

John Ovian

John Ovian awarded EJ Corey Bristol-Myers Squibb Fellowship

August 31, 2021

John Ovian, a graduate student in the Jacobsen Lab, has been chosen as a recipient of the EJ Corey Bristol-Myers Squibb Fellowship for 2021-22. John’s doctoral research focuses on developing catalytic enantioselective methods for the synthesis of chromanes and fluorinated building blocks. He also works to elucidate the catalyst features responsible for achieving high selectivity. Congratulations, John!

Agnes Thorarinsdottir headshot

American Chemical Society announces Division of Inorganic Chemistry Awards

August 31, 2021
Dr. Agnes Thorarinsdottir is the recipient of the 2021 American Chemical Society Division of Inorganic Chemistry award together with Dr. Yunjung Baek. Dr. Thorarinsdottir, Harvard University Center for the Environment Fellow, received her Ph.D. with Dr. Dave Harris at Northwestern University and currently she is conducting her postdoctoral studies in the Nocera Group. Dr. Yunjung Baek received her Ph.D. under the supervision of Professor Theodore Betley, Harvard University CCB.
Rebecca Sherbo Headshot

Rebecca Sherbo awarded Burroughs Wellcome Fund Career Award

August 5, 2021
Rebecca Sherbo, a postdoctoral fellow in the Nocera group, has been awarded the Burroughs Wellcome Fund Career Award at the Scientific Interface. This award funds the postdoctoral-to-faculty transition for postdocs who have completed a Ph.D. in physical sciences and then transitioned into biological sciences. Rebecca’s work is at the interface of electrochemistry and synthetic biology. She focuses on growing carbon- and nitrogen-fixing bacteria electrochemically to make food products from renewable energy and gases. A full story can be found... Read more about Rebecca Sherbo awarded Burroughs Wellcome Fund Career Award
Kevin Zhao smiling facing the camera

Kevin Zhao selected as a 2021 Schmidt Science Fellow

June 4, 2021
Eric and Wendy Schmidt today announced the fourth cohort of Schmidt Science Fellows, a group of 28 early-career scientists committed to harnessing interdisciplinary science to make a positive difference in the world. Kevin Zhao, a G5 in the Liu Lab, is one of three Harvard University students to receive the coveted fellowship. The Selectors were very impressed by the high quality of the candidates this year and Zhao was selected from a group of over 400 highly accomplished candidates nominated from 88 of the world’s leading science and technology universities and... Read more about Kevin Zhao selected as a 2021 Schmidt Science Fellow
Picture of Alessandra Canta in her graduation robe

Alessandra Canta wins Captain Jonathan Fay Prize

May 25, 2021

Alessandra Canta, a joint Chemistry and Astrophysics concentrator with a secondary field in MCB, has won the Captain Jonathan Fay Prize. Gregg Tucci, Director of Undergraduate Studies, recently shared this incredible news with the Department citing that this is the first time a Chemistry concentrator has won in more than thirty years.

Her thesis, “Unlocking the Key to Life: Observation and Formation of Nitriles in Protoplanetary Disks,” won three prizes this spring: the  Thomas Temple Hoopes Prize by the Faculty of Arts and Sciences, the Leo Goldberg Prize...

Read more about Alessandra Canta wins Captain Jonathan Fay Prize